top of page

2024 William T. Turman Plein Air Competition & Exhibition

Competition Dates: June 13-16, 2024 Exhibition Dates: June 21- July 28, 2024

Reception: June 21, 2024 5-6 PM

The Swope Art Museum proudly presents the 2024 William T. Turman Plein Air Exhibition. This highly competition, held from June 13th to 16th, brought together over 30 talented artists from across the Midwest, each with a unique vision for capturing the essence of Terre Haute and Vigo County.


The competition drew over 80 stunning works, with 24 exceptional pieces juried for display on the museum's second floor. These plein air masterpieces, painted outdoors, transport viewers to the very locations that inspired the artists.


In a wonderful collaboration with partners at Arts Illiana, the pieces not selected for the William T. Turman Juried Exhibition will be showcased in their "Salon" exhibition, running concurrently. This joint effort ensures that every artist's vision is celebrated and appreciated


As an Indiana Plein Air Painters Association affiliated event, the Turman competition welcomed all painters to create works in Terre Haute and Vigo County during the four-day period. Qualified entries vied for up to $5,000 in prizes.

Join in celebrating the talent, passion, and dedication of these remarkable artists, and let their works transport you to the very heart of Terre Haute and Vigo County.

Meet Our Juror

M. Shawn Cornell 

This year’s juror for the William T. Turman Plein Air Competition is Missouri artist, Shawn Cornell. Cornell is an experienced plein air painter and one of the founders of the Missouri Plein Air Association.A full-time plein air painter since 2007, Cornell co-owns OA Gallery in Kirkwood, Missouri, where he displays his own work and others. Cornell had a solo exhibition at the Albrecht-Kemper Museum of Art in St. Joseph, Missouri in 2015. 

2024 Juried Artists:

Soulaf Abas, Wetlander, John Ottis Adams Award of Merit

Sam Bowden, Good Seats , Jeanne McLeish Honorable Mention

Mark Burkett, After Five, James Farrington Gookins Award of Recognition

Claire Dana, Morning Courthouse, T.C.STeele Award of Honor

Kevin Carlson, Case Wetland, Hugh Breckenridge Award of Recognition

Wendy Fleury, Holiday, Veraldo J Cariani Award of Merit

Wendy Fleury, The Woodshed, Richard Gruelle Award of Merit

Sandy Hall, Maple Nature Park Revisited, C. Curry Bohm Award of Recognition

Becky Hochhalter, The Centenarian, Genevieve Goth Graf Award of Merit

Vicki Jameson, Restful, Mark Burkett Honorable Mention

Timothy King, Mr. Dees Street, Otto Stark Award of Distinction

Felicia Leach, Looking Down River on Otter Creek, Blanche Canfield Bruce Award of Merit

Ashley Littlejohn, Midwest Prayer Flag, Clifton Wheeler Award of Merit

Mary Mayhew, Courthouse from ISU - Sat, John Heliker Award of Recognition

Jeanne McLeish, The Deming, Marie Goth Award of Distinction

Margaret Miller, Baby Wren, Jane Kimball Yung Award of Recognition

Michael Neary, St Ben's (Large), William T. Turman Grand Prize

Christel Gutelius, Prairie Creek in Vigo County, Ada Walter Shulz Award of Honor

Nancy Nichols-Pethick, View from New Vermillion Cemetery, Frank Dudley Award of Merit

Nancy Nichols-Pethick, Pimento I , Susan Merrill Ketchum Award of Distinction

Sarah Petrulis, Dewey Point 2 , William Wentworth Award of Merit

Jennifer Taylor, Animals Teach Us, Carl Graft Award of Merit

Michael Tingley, Plein Air Alley, Louise B. Hansen Award of Recognition

Hannah Weck, Campsite One, William Forsyth Award of Distinction

Photos of our juried painting coming soon!


bottom of page