76th Annual Wabash Valley Exhibition

November 6, 2020 – January 10, 2020

In December of 1944, the Swope’s second director (1944-60), Dr. Allen Albert, and curator Hazel Dodge announced plans for a new and exciting annual exhibition where all artists of Terre Haute and vicinity could enter their work. They planned for it to become as permanent and noteworthy as the Hoosier Salon program, and the first Wabash Valley show opened May 6, 1945 to an outstanding attendance of 350 people.

The Wabash Valley Exhibition remains one of the Museum’s most popular events, attracting a diverse array of artists and patrons alike. Because of this, it is safe to say Dr. Albert and Ms. Dodge achieved their goal of furthering the support and interest in Midwestern art.

This year’s distinguished juror is independent filmmaker Louis Cox. Brooklyn-based Cox has deep ties to the Swope — his grandfather John Rogers Cox was the first director of the Museum in 1941, and along with his wife Hermine Haslem, purchased the founding collection.

Louis is an alumnus of the New School in New York City, where he studied literature and screenwriting while assistant teaching for cinematography and lighting courses. He went on to work at The-Artery, a small VFX studio in Manhattan where he served as a production coordinator on several projects including those with Mercedes-Benz, Netflix, and Warner Bros Pictures. He has previously taught for the International Center of Photography along with the School of Creative and Performing Arts. Most recently Louis completed work on his feature length film ‘Now Again’ acting as both writer and cinematographer.

Click here to view the awards stream.

View this year’s selections below; click on the photo for more details. The full list of award winners can be found under the photo gallery.

Awards of Merit & Purchase Awards

Juror’s Awards of Merit

The Howard E. Wooden, Sr. Memorial Best in Show Grand Prize

Rob Millard-Mendez, The Sackler’s Family America

Quinquagenary Grand Prize in Painting

In memory of Emily Cox Gedrick

Kyle Surges, Mod Radio

Sarah Decker Ning Grand Prize

(for a work in any medium)

Michael Neary, 2020 Vision: Caucasians on Parade

Sheron J. Dailey Award of Distinction

In memory of Shirley Williams Dailey Bennett

Amy McInerny, Eye of the Hurricane

Alliance of the Swope Award of Distinction

Rachel Rosenfeld, In Lieu of Testimony: No. 4

William C. Carls Award of Distinction

Nathan Taves, Pasture Cliffs

Brenda F. Milliren Award of Distinction

In memory of Philip Milliren

James Swanson, Kitchen Cooks

Dr. James Conyers Award of Honor

In memory of John Laska

Pam Burroughs, What’s that Word?

Jacquie & Rod Bradfield Award of Honor

In honor of the 100th birthday of Barbara H. Oram

Alicia Dawn Criswell, Grandmother, Mother, Me

Frank Swaim, M.D. Award of Honor

Rod Bradfield, Jacquie in Black and White

Susan & George Brattain Award of Honor

Pat Gasway, Waiting For a More Promising Day

Sue Bentrup Award of Honor

James Shepard, Mr. Bill

Eileen Prose Award of Honor

In memory of Ted Prose

Wyatt LeGrand, Ghosts

Alliance of the Swope Award of Honor

Austin Roberts, Portrait 048

Nancy and Fred Nation Award of Honor

Becky Hochhalter, The President’s Man

Juror’s Prize for Lasting IMpression

Becky Hochhalter, Invasive

Alliance of the Swope Peoples’ Choice Award

to be announced at end of exhibition

Joan & David Zaun Award of Recognition

Karla Fies, Snowsuit

Dorothy W. Jerse Award of Recognition

Pamela Burroughs, What’s that Word? 

Masten Real Estate Holdings, LLC Award of Recognition

Mark Burkett, Over My Head

Eleanor Cox Riggs Award of Recognition

Maggie Capettini, Westward

Max Gibson Award of Recognition

Louie Laskowski, Swamp Monster

Tonya & Chris Pfaff Award of Recognition

Kenneth Probst, Trumplandia: Not a Place But a State of Mind

Laney Meis Award of Recognition

Michael Pittman, In the Second Before

Richard J. Shagley Award of Recognition

Tina Banks, Music House

Cindy Cox Award of Recognition

Saralee Howard, By the Dawn’s Early LIght

Arts Illiana Award of Recognition

Joe Bartz, The Revealing Science of God

Julia Turner Award of Recognition

In memory of Phyllis Dye Turner

Tom Duffy, Fresh Veggies

Rachael Berenson Perry Award of Recognition

(for a work on paper)
Allyson Midgley, Funky Fish No. 2

Michael D. Buzash Annual Artistic Award of Merit

Becky Hochhalter, Invasive

Dr. Wieke S. van der Weijden Benjamin Award of Merit

In memory of Robert E. Thompson

Terre Haute MoMA, hot dog

Danette Angermeier Memorial Fund of the WVCF Award of Merit

Zachary Doan, Lightning Along the Coast

Purchase Awards

Chosen by:

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Louie Laskowski, Swamp Monster

Tonya & Brad Balch

James Swanson, Brunch

Pi Kappa Alpha at Indiana State University

Becky Hochhalter, Invasive


Wyatt LeGrand, COVID Days

Alpa Patel & Thomas Yeagley

Zachery Doan, Lightening on the Coast

Ellie & Richard Templeton

Maggie Capettini, Westward

Nancy Seidel

David Gill, The Old ENgineer


Allyson Midgley, Funky Fish No. 2

Elsa Morris

Pam Burroughs, What’s that Word?

Nancy & Fred Nation

Tom Duffy, Fresh Veggies